Harmonix Announces 2nd Song Set List for “Rock Band VR”, Campaign Details

Harmonix is due to release Rock Band VR exclusively for the Oculus Rift on March 23rd. They have previously announced the 1st song set list, which comprises of 21 songs, for this title.

Today they have announced the second set list (of 20 more song) tracks that will be in this game, which bumps the overall of current announced songs to 41 songs.

  • Blondie – “One Way Or Another”
  • Carrie Underwood – “Church Bells”
  • Catfish And The Bottlemen – “Postpone”
  • Coldplay – “Birds”
  • David Bowie – “Suffragette City”
  • Europe – “The Final Countdown”
  • Green Day – “Holiday”
  • Jimmy Eat World – “The Middle”
  • Maroon 5 – “Maps”
  • Mumford & Sons – “I Will Wait”
  • Nirvana – “Smells Like Teen Spirit”
  • Parks – “Sweater Weather”
  • Pearl Jam – “Alive”
  • The Pretty Reckless – “Heaven Knows”
  • The Starting Line – “Quitter”
  • Stone Temple Pilots – “Plush”
  • Switchfoot – “Float”
  • The Temper Trap – “Alive”
  • Twin Atlantic – “I Am Alive”
  • The Wind And The Wave – “Grand Canyon”

That’s not all though, as the game will feature 60 songs, which leaves 19 unannounced songs to be revealed as the 3rd set list at a later date.

Some of the songs from the RBVR soundtrack will be heading to Rock Band 4 in the future as purchasable DLC. Stay tuned for details on which tracks are coming, and when!

Katie Naka (Producer/Writer for Rock Band VR) talks about the narrative in this title. According to Katie, the first draft of the story contained enough material for a full length aminated film. From that pool of ideas, they pulled what they considered the “greatest hits” and made the scenes that they feel can be presented best in VR. The production includes many written drafts, visits to motion capture studio, and a lot of travel to L.A. to cast and record the voice over with the voice actors. Your bandmates (Derek, Maddy and Wes) will be acting as supporting characters with relationship to each other and you, as your band Autoblaster embark on the journey from playing in dirty local bars to decadent theaters.

The story of this game will unfoldes in a non-linear way. You starts the game on the day of your biggest show, and each narrative moment is played out as a flashbacks while the band reminiscing about their favorite moments from the past shows, remembered by a keepsake items from the respective performance.

You can pre order the Rock Band VR Guitar Controller Bundle on Amazon now.

The story of Autoblaster has a little bit of everything; moments of realism that we hope will surprise players emotionally, bizarre non-sequiturs, and hilarious rock ‘n roll tropes that you never thought you’d be able experience firsthand. No matter what show you play in the Rock Band VR campaign, you’ll find yourself in the midst of unique and memorable characters (whether they’re human, animal, or sentient machine) that make each show something special. We can’t wait for players to check it out!- Katie Naka





Harmonix Music Site